Welcome to the Thames Yacht Club!

My name is Rob Amrein, Commodore of TYC, and a member of the club for thirteen years.

Webster’s Dictionary defines expectation as “that which is expected or looked for”. When my wife and I first joined to the Thames Yacht Club it was with idea of finding a place that would allow us to stay in boating. A place where our children and grandchildren would enjoy visiting and spending time, the Thames Yacht Club more than met our expectations.

If you come to the Thames Yacht Club as visitor, racer, cruiser or guest at one of our parties, my number one expectation for you is that you will have fun. My second expectation is if you decide to join our club is that you will meet some really great people that will become life long friends.

We are located at 396 Pequot Avenue on the Thames River in New London, Ct, with direct access to Long Island Sound. TYC owns and maintains moorings on both Fishers Island and Block Island. We have a large white sandy beach and clubhouse and dock with launch service from 9 to 9 for our mooring field.

Spend some time checking out the different areas of this website to learn about all our different programs, if interested in learning more contact our Membership Committee via e-mail at

If you are in the area stop by and take a tour, if sailing in area and need a transient mooring for the night call TYC on VHF 71 and ask our launch operators for help. We pride ourselves on being a club for all boaters –sailors, power boaters, kayak lovers or just a family who wants to enjoy a quiet beach.

Thanks for taking the time to check us out and hope to meet you at TYC!

Robert Amrein
Commodore, Thames Yacht Club





Commodore – Rob Amrein                               Vice Commodore – Rebecca Turner



Rear Commodore – Jackie Fisher                   Secretary – John Stahl



Treasurer – Marcel Couture                              Measurer – Dan Andrews





House Committee Chair: Jim Way  &  Richard Webber & Keith Codner

Membership Committee Chair: Gabe Stern


Jim Avery                                                        Jackie Fisher

Jon Peterson                                                    Bill Powers

Ron Reinhart                                                    Nancy Andrews

John Patry                                                        Greg Reese




Fleet Cptns – Mary Maiorano & Bill Powers     Youth Sailing – Rob Amrein


Mooring – Claire Gammo & Rich Webber       Adult Sailing – Bill Turner



Membership  – Gabe Stern                               Publicity – Cate Sheahan & Emma Rae



ECSA  Representative – Judy Gibbs                Regatta – Jackie Fisher, Rear Commodore


Dock – Bruce Smith                                          Race Secretary – Jeff Lamothe


Launch – Wayne Gammo                                 Mainsheet – Ted Paulsen



Dinghy – Claire Gammo                                   Clothing – Eileen Cicchese



Marine Supplies -Wayne Gammo                    Webmasters – Tim Appleton & Nancy Andrews




Wayne Gammo                                                Beth Robinson         Mary Ellen Marcotte

Lou Leverone                                                    Fr Rick Albamonti

Marcel Couture                                                 William Rae